School is back in session after a long, hot summer. Louisiana State Police have a few safety reminders.
A rule of thumb in nearly any situation is to slow down. Remember, the posted speed limit isn’t in effect at pickup and drop off times. It drops to 25 mph in school zones. Crossing guards have the authority to stop or reroute traffic. Stay off your phone in school zones.
When you see a bus with red lights flashing , Louisiana law requires you to stop at least 30 feet away. This applies in either direction, unless you’re on a divided highway with a raised median, or barrier.
If you’re transporting a child to school in your car, Louisiana law requires children under 13 to ride in the back seat. Police remind all drivers to slow down and be vigilant.